Home Page

Our Governors

Welcome to our Governors’ section.

If you are interested in becoming a school governor please contact Jenny Calverley (Clerk to Governors) on 01442 391324. 

If you wish to contact us please do so by emailing us at

Email us at :


Our Instrument of Government is:


  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 Local Authority Governor
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 1 Headteacher
  • 5 Co-opted Governors
School governors work on a voluntary basis and are central to the life of the School. The Governing Body is made up of parent governors, teacher governors, County Council appointments, and co-opted members. The governors meet on a regular basis to disscuss such things as finance, curriculum, personnel issues and issues relating to the use of the school premises. At all times the Headteacher and the Governors work closely together. The day to day running of the school is devolved to the headteacher.

Our Governors, their Committees and Category

Name Committee Category Term of Office Register of Governor's Interests
Daniel Barron Finance / Premises & Strategy & Performance Committee Headteacher Ongoing No conflicts
Jon Chapman Finance / Premises & Strategy & Performance Committee Chair to Governors and Finance & Premises Committee
Co-Opted Governor
01.09.19 - 31.07.21 Spouse works at Gade Valley School.
Stephanie Smith - Vice Chairman Strategy & Performance Committee Parent Governor and Strategy Performance Chair 01.09.17- 31.08.21 No conflicts
Annie Kavanagh Strategy & Performance Committee Staff - Teaching Governor 01.04.18 - 31.03.22 No conflicts
Brenda Simson Finance / Premises Committee Co-Opted Governor 07.07.15 - 31.07.21 No conflicts
Roger Taylor Finance / Premises Committee Local Authority Governor 07.07.15 - 31.07.21 No conflicts
Louise Smith Strategy & Performance Committee Co-Opted Governor 02.09.16 - 01.09.24 No conflicts
Jenny Calverley Clerk to Governors     School Business Manager at Gade Valley School



Attendance Record for Governing Body Meetings 2019/2020


Governors in office during the relevant period and still serving

Date of Meeting






Mr Daniel Barron






Mr Jon Chapman






Mr Roger Taylor






Mrs Rebecca Smith






Mr David Smith






Ms Louise Smith






Mrs Stephanie Smith






Mrs Brenda Simson






Miss Annie Kavanagh